Personal Injury Protection is an essential part of your car insurance policy that pays for personal or bodily injuries in a car accident. This essential part is required by law on your policy. What this means is everyone with auto insurance has this coverage. In Utah, the minimum amount of coverage, by law, is $3,000 for each individual in the car at the time of the accident.  

This coverage is there so that if you or anyone in your car is injured or hurt in the accident you do not have to pay to get the treatment or care you need out of your pocket up to the limit you have available. 

Insurance Coverage for Personal Injuries in Utah

For example, Savannah, her daughter Lily, and her friend Maria were driving to get Lunch at Pizza Pie Cafe in Provo and they were rear-ended at 15 MPH by Sam because he was distracted by texting and driving.

Savannah has some neck pain and whiplash symptoms, and Lily’s neck is hurting and so is her shoulder from the seat belt locking, and Maria also has whiplash, and back pain. 

Savannah will have $3000 of PIP coverage to cover the cost of her injury recovery. 

Lily will have $3000 of PIP coverage to cover the cost of her injury recovery.

Maria will have $3000 of PIP coverage to cover the cost of her injury recovery. 

Due to the accident not being their fault they have even more medical coverage than their PIP as well. 

All 3 are able to get treatment at an Axcess Accident Center and get back to feeling their best and enjoy the things they love to do.

What Types of Things Are Covered with PIP? 

PIP covers medical expenses related to the auto accident injury. PIP coverage varies by policy so be sure to check your specific policy to ensure coverage.  

Typically, PIP Coverage includes: 

  • Integrative Chiropractic Care (Evaluation, Chiropractic Adjustment, Massage Therapy, Acupuncture, E-Stim)
  • Visits to the ER 
  • Imaging Needed to Assess Injuries & Severity (X-Ray, MRI, and More) 
  • Visits with Other Physicians and Specialists including Physical Therapists, MDs Surgeons, and More 
  • Medicines Prescribed by Physicians to Reduce Pain 
  • Necessary Medical Equipment to Aid in Pain Relief & Recovery 

Again, be sure to check your individual policy coverage. If you need help understanding what is covered we are happy to help you understand your coverage and rights. 

PIP Coverage in UTAH 

In Utah, regardless of who is at fault in an accident, you have this PIP coverage available to you to cover your medical expenses to address your pain and get you feeling better. 

At Axcess Accident Center, we know and understand the insurance billing process and will assist you in making a claim so that your treatment and recovery are covered without you paying anything out of pocket. 

Making a claim on your insurance to cover your injury recovery costs with PIP, will not cause your rates to go up. There are many factors that can increase your rates but getting treatment when you are not at fault is not one of the reasons. Please talk with your insurance agent to better understand what increases your rates. 

If you are injured and you need treatment, but you are worried about your insurance cost increasing please call us so that we can review your specific accident details and help you understand your rights. 

What does it mean to exhaust PIP or run out of PIP coverage? 

When you exceed the amount of money you have for PIP coverage, in the example above more than $3,000, you may be entitled to more compensation from the at-fault insurance company to cover the medical expenses it takes to recover from your car accident injuries. 

Minimum bodily injury limits in Utah are set at $25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident. We always recommend having higher limits due to the fact that injuries can cause many health issues, chronic pain, and other health complications. For more answers about coverage or your current coverage talk with your insurance agent because this varies by policy. 

Additional compensation is only available for necessary procedures and treatment that truly help you make a full recovery. To learn more about your rights and what to do if PIP is exhausted please contact a trustworthy attorney who can help you with a Personal Injury Claim. If you need a suggestion or a referral to a trustworthy attorney please let us know. 

We offer free evaluations and free massage to individuals that have been in a car accident in Utah in the last 45 days. You can contact us at 801-701-8222 to schedule an appointment or contact us here > 

Subscribe To Receive The Latest News

Get The Latest Blogs Emailed To You As Soon As It’s Posted.

Read Our Privacy Policy here.